2002/10/30 Mountain View, CA AUD

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Mountain View, CA
Shoreline Amphitheater

Audience taper and taping info unknown. WAV CDs ripped and then converted to FLAC using xAct in March 2022.


As promised back in December, I’m going to try to upload one under-circulated bootleg from every TPHB tour over the next few weeks. More info what I’ve previously uploaded is below.

This is a rarely-circulated show from Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers’ fall/winter leg of their 2002 tour. Since they released ‘The Last DJ’ album was released a few weeks prior, the band was able to play quite a few songs off the album for the audience (8 of the album’s 12 tracks!). That these late 2002 shows focused so much on the new album is demonstrated by the fact that two of the band’s live staples and biggest hits — “Free Fallin” and “American Girl” — wound up not making their way into a lot of the setlists.
What is also notable about this show is the rare performance of the Count Five “Psychotic Reaction” cover. The band played this song in the early ’90s and used it as an opportunity for Stan Lynch to sing. Here, though, given Lynch’s departure, TP takes over.


  1. The Last DJ
  2. Love Is A Long Road
  3. talk
  4. Have Love Will Travel
  5. Dreamville
  6. Joe
  7. When A Kid Goes Bad
  8. Shadow Of A Doubt
  9. I Won’t Back Down
  10. You Don’t Know How It Feels
  11. band intros
  12. Feel A Whole Lot Better
  13. Like A Diamond
  14. A Woman In Love
  15. The Waiting
  16. Kings Highway
  17. Yer So Bad
  18. Lost Children
  19. Runnin’ Down A Dream
  20. Can’t Stop The Sun
  21. I Need To Know
  22. Psychotic Reaction
  23. Mary Jane’s Last Dance

Band lineup: Tom Petty, Mike Campbell, Benmont Tench, Ron Blair, Steve Ferrone

I am not a recorder or filmer of live shows. However, I am an avid trader/poster who wants others to enjoy the live shows that often sat in bootleggers’ collections, un-traded and untouched.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.