2002/06/28 Cuyahoga Falls, OH AUD

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Blossom Center
Cuyahoga Falls, OH

Audience taper and taping info unknown.


As promised back in December, I’m going to try to upload one under-circulated bootleg from every TPHB tour over the next few weeks. More info what I’ve previously uploaded is below.

This is the second show of Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers’ 2002 tour: a tour that would continue sporadically all the way through December 14. Interestingly, as in the early parts of the 2013 tour, the band experimented with song-placement in the setlist. For instance, “I Need to Know” was only the opener of a few 1983 shows; “Refugee” was almost never played early in the set; and “Runnin’ Down a Dream” was never placed here in the set — it was usually the last song (89, 90, 91, 92, 95), the opener (01, later 02 shows), the second or third song (97, 99), or the encore opener (08, 10). This leg of the tour also shared some songs with the 2001 tour: the hits in rotation were “Here Comes My Girl” and “Even the Losers,” and “Too Much Ain’t Enough” was played near the end of the set.

What makes these early shows unique, beyond the interesting setlist arrangement, is the deployment of the songs from the forthcoming ‘The Last DJ’ album. Later shows in the tour would eschew with playing all of the ‘Last DJ’ songs in a row, and would instead spread them out throughout the setlist. Note that ‘The Last DJ’ wasn’t released until October, so summer audiences didn’t know these songs. This show, then, marks the second live performances of these songs, and the first most readily available to traders (apparently the tour’s opening night, 2002-06-27, was bootlegged, but I haven’t seen it traded).
-mike mono


  1. I Need To Know
  2. I Won’t Back Down
  3. Refugee
  4. Mary Jane’s Last Dance
  5. Here Comes My Girl
  6. Even The Losers
  7. You Don’t Know How It Feels
  8. It’s Good To Be King
  9. Time To Move On
  10. Learning To Fly
  11. Have Love Will Travel
  12. Lost Children
  13. Can’t Stop The Sun
  14. Runnin’ Down A Dream
  15. Too Much Ain’t Enough
  16. You Wreck Me
  17. Free Fallin’
  18. I’m Crying
  19. American Girl

Band lineup: Tom Petty, Mike Campbell, Benmont Tench, Ron Blair, Steve Ferrone

I am not a recorder or filter of live shows. However, I am an avid trader/poster who wants others to enjoy the live shows that often sat in bootleggers’ collections, untraded and untouched.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.