1997/02/07 San Francisco, CA FM source # 4

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
The Fillmore
San Francisco, CA
February 7, 1997

Source: KFOG-FM radio broadcast
Lineage: FM > MC > Audacity > WAV > FLAC (L8, align on SBs)

  1. KFOG Intro
  2. Around And Around
  3. Jammin’ Me –> omitted, officially released on “The Live Anthology” box set
  4. Runnin’ Down A Dream
  5. Time Is On My Side
  6. Call Me The Breeze
  7. Cabin Down Below
  8. Diddy Wah Diddy
  9. Slaughter On 10th Avenue
  10. Listen To Your Heart
  11. KFOG Intro
  12. I Won’t Back Down
  13. The Date I Had With That Ugly Old Homecoming Queen
  14. I Found My Baby (feat. John Lee Hooker)
  15. It Serves You Right To Suffer (feat. John Lee Hooker)
  16. Boogie Chillen’ (feat. John Lee Hooker)
  17. KFOG Intro
  18. It’s Good To Be King
  19. Green Onions
  20. You Are My Sunshine Ain’t No Sunshine
  21. On The Street
  22. I Want You Back Again –> omitted, officially released on “The Live Anthology” box set
  23. Little Maggie
  24. Walls
  25. Angel Dream
  26. Guitar Boogie Shuffle
  27. Even The Losers
  28. American Girl
  29. You Really Got Me
  30. County Farm
  31. You Wreck Me
  32. KFOG Intro
  33. Shakin’ All Over
  34. Mary Jane’s Last Dance
  35. You Don’t Know How It Feels
  36. I’ve Got A Woman
  37. Free Fallin’
  38. Gloria
  39. Bye Bye Johnny
  40. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
  41. Louie Louie
  42. It’s All Over Now
  43. Alright For Now> KFOG Outro


  1. KFOG Intro (Jan. 31, 1997)
  2. Time Is On My Side (Jan. 31, 1997)
  3. Goldfinger (Jan. 31, 1997) –> omitted, officially released on “The Live Anthology” box set
  4. Listen To Her Heart (Jan. 31, 1997)
  5. Cabin Down Below (Feb. 1, 1997)
  6. Diddy Wah Diddy (Feb. 1, 1997) –> omitted, officially released on “The Live Anthology” box set
  7. On The Street (Feb. 1, 1997)
  8. I Want You Back Again (Feb. 1, 1997)
  9. Crazy Mama (Feb. 4, 1997)
  10. Call Me The Breeze (Feb. 4, 1997)
  11. Honey Bee (Feb. 6, 1997)
  12. I Won’t Back Down (Feb. 6, 1997)

Total time 3:52:30

Tom Petty – lead vocals, guitar
Mike Campbell – guitars
Benmont Tench – keyboards
Howie Epstein – bass
Scott Thurston – guitars, harmonica
Steve Ferrone – drums

Dave Rafter’s notes:
In January and February of 1997, Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers did a 20 night residency at the Fillmore in San Francisco. Seeing as how we’re at the 20th Anniversary of that historic run of concerts, I figured it’s time to digitize my original high bias cassettes from the KFOG broadcast of the Feb. 7th 1997 show which was the last of the run.

The 3-cd Crystal Cat bootleg of this show (“The Fillmore 1997, CC516-18) has the complete Feb. 7th show in similar sound quality to my cassette tapes, but uses “bonus cuts” from 1978, 1989, and 1995 to fill up the third CD. The Crystal Cat bootleg edits out all of the KFOG commentary. For this version, I’ve chosen to go with an “archival” approach, presenting the entire show as broadcast at the time. And since KFOG broadcast short segments of the concerts from five other nights leading up to the Feb. 7th broadcast, even if you’ve got the Crystal Cat boot this will give you something new. I have four out of the five of those short broadcasts and they’re here as “bonus” tracks.

I’ve set this up so that if you burn it to CD, the start of each CD is the introduction to the next segment of the show (after the band took a break).

From the SFGATE website:
Back in 1997 Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers played 20 sold-out shows at San Francisco’s Fillmore.

Between Jan. 10 and Feb. 7, a grinning Petty and his rollicking band delivered a mix of their favorites, rarities and classic rock gems for audiences of around 1,200 each night.

In the opening weekend, San Francisco Chronicle music critic Joel Selvin wrote, “It was one of rock music’s top outfits of the past 20 years relaxed and doing what it does best. This band is so unpretentious, so effortless, it’s almost easy to overlook how great it is. And when Petty’s enormous
catalog and consistent excellence are weighed, he has to be considered one of the greatest in the history of music.”

Selvin added: “What it will mean in the long run to Petty and his band, only time will tell. In the meantime, what is happening at the Fillmore is nothing less than rock ‘n’ roll at its best. And nothing less than the making of a significant piece of rock ‘n’ roll history.”

Many thanks to Dave for his work and for providing the original file set through his Voodoo Wagon blog.

Support the artists! Buy their official releases, go to their concerts!
Trade freely! Do not buy or sell! Keep it lossless!

Uploaded to DIME by propylaen in October 2017.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.