1987/10/04 Milano, Italy AUD

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Roger McGuinn
Arena Civica di Milano

I traded for this bootleg over two decades ago. I converted the WAV CDs to flac via xAct. Do not sell!

After Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers toured worldwide with Dylan in 1986, they recorded what would become the “Let Me Up (I’ve Had Enough)” album, released it the following year, and subsequently went on tour to support it. Following this tour, the band reunited with Dylan for what would become known as the “Temples in Flames” Tour. This European tour only took place in September and October of 1987 and Roger McGuinn served as the tour’s opening act. Tom and the Heartbreakers therefore backed up both McGuinn and Dylan on this tour, playing the entire show. Though this bootleg doesn’t contain Dylan’s set, it does contain both McGuinn’s and Tom and the Heartbreakers’ sets.

Though this bootleg isn’t of the best sound quality, it is one of the only recordings from this tour. More than this, this boot contains an early appearance of McGuinn’s and Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ collaboration, “King of the Hill,” which wouldn’t be officially released until a few years later on McGuinn’s “Back from Rio” album (1991).

More importantly, however, this boot contains two unreleased songs. Though “Goodbye Little Girl” would be performed throughout this tour (and there are better live recordings of it out there), the other new song, “Ain’t Enough Money (In The Whole Wide World),” wouldn’t be performed again, and so this is the only bootleg that has this song. Both of these songs would ultimately never be released by the band in either studio or live format. It is because of this that I felt the show would be worth (re)sharing and thus adding to anyone’s collection!

  1. Don’t You Write Her Off
  2. I Wasn’t Born To Follow
  3. Sunshine Love
  4. Light Of The Darkness
  5. Chestnut Mare
  6. Drug Store Truck Driving Man
  7. King Of The Hill
  8. Eight Miles High
  9. Turn Turn Turn
  10. Mr. Tambourine Man
  11. Should I Stay Or Should I Go
  12. American Girl
  13. Refugee
  14. Goodbye Little Rich Girl
  15. You Got Lucky
  16. Ain’t Enough Money (In The Whole Wide World)
  17. So You Want To Be A Rock ‘N’ Roll Star
  18. Shout


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.