1987/06/01 Dallas, TX AUD source #2

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Reunion Arena
Dallas, Texas
June 1, 1987

(mjk5510 Master)
16/44 Edition

Recording: 2 x Sony ECM 33F Mics > Marantz PMD 430 (DBX Encoded)

Transfer: mjk5510 Master > Nakamichi DR-01 (DBX decoded / azimuth adjusted) > Audacity (24/96) > Peak Pro 6 (pitch adjusted +35 cents) > iZotope RX / ozone 5 (mastered) > Peak Pro 6 (post production) > 16/44 > xACT 2.39 > FLAC

  1. Breakdown
  2. Think About Me
  3. American Girl
  4. My Life/Your World
  5. Here Comes My Girl
  6. Listen To Her Heart
  7. For What It’s Worth
  8. The Waiting
  9. Don’t Come Around Here No More
  10. It’ll All Work Out
  11. Spike
  12. Runaway Train
  13. Should I Stay Or Should Go
  14. Even The Losers
  15. Jammin’ Me
  16. Refugee
  17. You Got Lucky
  18. So You Want To Be A Rock ‘n Roll Star

Known Faults:

This is a fresh transfer of my master tape for the Dallas stop on the 1987 “Let Me Up (I’ve Had Enough) Tour. I’ve been working on this one on and off for the last 6 months or so and I’m extremely satisfied with the final product.

Recorded from the top row of the lower balcony 2 sections back stage left.

The 1987 tour was a revitalization for Petty, a little over two weeks before this show on May 17th an arsonist set the back staircase of his house on fire just as the family was sitting down for breakfast. The family escaped but the house was lost with the exception of the basement studio. This shook Petty to his core and he references during the show eventually exercising the demons in the song “I Won’t Back Down”. This show, as much of the 1987 tour and subsequent performance backing Bob Dylan are played with energy and attitude and in my opinion is once of Petty’s greatest tours.

I’ve given it the deluxe treatment removing numerous offending crowd noises (95% have been removed with the exception of the start of “Breakdown” with a couple of yells that are too embedded in the frequencies and too close to cleanly remove).

This is the second transfer I’ve done, the first transfer does circulate and has been torrented in the past and reseeded a time or two but it was not properly transferred back before I knew anything about azimuth adjustment or pitch adjusting and it does in fact run slow which of course has been corrected here.

This share is dedicated to my good friend “slipkid68” who has asked about this one a few times with thanks for the encouragement, motivation and general support on not only this release but a multitude of others.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.