1986/07/31 Tacoma, WA SBD

Bob Dylan
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
And The Queens Of Rhythm
Takoma Washington
July 31, 1986

Soundboard > ? > VHS Hi-Fi tape trade
Mitsubishi HS U650 (VHS HI FI) (me) > Sony DTC-690 @ 16/48
Sony DTC-690 @ 16/48 > Wave (via toslink), Minor editing and conversion to 16/44.1 with Audacity > CD Wav > Flac (Level 8)

Low generation clear and punchy soundboard recording with a minimum of hiss.

  1. Introduction
  2. So Long Good Luck and Goodbye
  3. All Along the Watchtower
  4. Clean Cut Kid
  5. I’ll Remember You
  6. Shot of Love
  7. (You and Me) We Had It All
  8. Masters of War
  9. Straight Into Darkness
  10. Think About Me
  11. Waiting Is the Hardest Part (tape flip)
  12. Breakdown
  13. It Ain’t Me Babe
  14. One too Many Mornings
  15. Mr. Tambourine Man
  16. I Forgot More (Than You’ll Ever Know)
  17. Band of the Hand
  18. When the Night Comes Falling From the Sky
  19. Lonesome town
  20. Ballad of A Thin Man (tape flip)
  21. Listen to Your Heart
  22. Spike (cuts off-cross fade out)
  23. Rainy Day Women 12 & 35
  24. The Real You
  25. Across the Borderline
  26. Band Introductions
  27. Like A Rolling Stone
  28. In the Garden
  29. Blowing In the Wind
  30. Bye Bye Johnny
  31. Knocking On Heaven’s Door (cuts off-tape runs out)

the bad…
A low level hum and a light tick tick tick can be heard in the quieter sections and between songs.
The transport ticking noise was too much to try and remove.
Other random click and pop noises were removed during the end to end review.
“Band of the Hand” has 3 closely spaced breaks that seemed to indicate a loss of power to the recorder?
I removed the short gaps and tried to minimize the thump of the off-on surges.
A few songs are cut and it is likely there is a 90 minute cassette in the lineage.
“Ballad of a Thin Man” is faded out at the break.
“Rolling Stone” also cuts off and I clipped an additional 2 seconds out to smooth this break.
There were 2 breaks towards the end of “Garden” that spliced together ok.
“Blowing in the Wind” is damaged for 5 seconds and this is from VHS HI Fi tracking error.
Nothing could be done so I reduced the volume of this part.
The most dissapointing is “Knocking” which cuts off and ends the show very abruptly.
On the Tom Petty side the majority of his second set is missing.
“Spike” cut off and I cross faded the break.
The songs were listed on my tape but found they were not there.
This is likely a third or fourth generation copy.
Master > deck with transport noise > ? > ? > vhs-hi-fi (trade copy) > 16/48
No equalization or noise reduction used.
Just a little snip snip snip at the appropriate places.
Mike Martin 7/2010
Flying M Productions


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.