1986/07/02 Akron, OH AUD

Bob Dylan
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Grateful Dead

Mega-rare restored five-LP monster vinyl set with extras “Joint Ventures” Rubber Bowl, Akron Ohio 1986-07-02 AUD

Well well well, that’s a mouthful…

What you are getting on the vinyl set is believed to be the entire performances of Dylan and Petty, plus most of the Grateful Dead set. The first four tracks of the Dead’s performance are missing, but not to worry they have been included from one of the Internet Archive sources so you may have the entire show.

The title of this box set has two meanings. The first of course is that all three bands are performing together at times in various combinations. You get Dylan with Petty’s band, Dylan with the Dead, and the Dead performing Dylan without him, and also without Jerry. The second meaning refers to the fact that recording this show was a cooperative effort, that there is more than one taper in wildly different places in the audience. The recording is clear but of inconsistent quality, ranging from very good to excellent.

Now on to the performances themselves. Perhaps the best of them is Tom Petty. He sounds cool, relaxed, and is having a great time. Dylan as some of you may remember was going through somewhat of a personal identity crisis at the time. As a result, the man sounds like a speeding bullet freight train. He is over-the-top energetic with a slightly hoarse voice. I loved the show he gave on this night, but you can feel the demon forces pushing.

Now, on to the Grateful Dead. The beginning and middle are fine, then we get to “Desolation Row”. Jerry (for reasons probably health-related) walks off the stage and Weir carries on without him. It’s a unique performance, and quite good. But the group’s energy begins to suffer and the “Box Of Rain” encore is a bit painful to listen to. I’ve seen reviews of their set on this night, with some calling it their worst show ever. I can’t agree at all with that based upon just a clinker of an encore, it sure was fun getting to that point.

Setlist as played (corrected from album, but please supply additional corrections if needed)

Bob Dylan
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers

  1. Shake A Hand
  2. Positively 4th Street
  3. Clean Cut Kid
  4. I’ll Remember You
  5. Trust Yourself
  6. Lucky Old Sun
  7. Masters Of War

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

  1. Straight Into Darkness
  2. Think About Me
  3. The Waiting
  4. Breakdown

Bob Dylan Solo

  1. To Ramona
  2. One Too Many Mornings
  3. It Ain’t Me Babe

Bob Dylan and the Heartbreakers

  1. I Forgot More Than You’ll Ever Know
  2. Band Of The Hand
  3. When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky
  4. Lonesome Town
  5. Ballad Of A Thin Man

Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers

  1. Even The Losers
  2. Spike
  3. Don’t Do Me Like That
  4. Refugee

Bob Dylan and the Heartbreakers

  1. Rainy Day Women #12 & #35
  2. Seeing The Real You At Last
  3. Across The Borderline
  4. I And I
  5. Like A Rolling Stone
  6. In The Garden
  7. Blowin’ In The Wind
  8. Red Cadillac and a Black Mustache

Bob Dylan and The Grateful Dead

  1. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door

The Grateful Dead

Greatest Story Ever Told (NOT ON VINYL, IN EXTRAS FOLDER)

The Grateful Dead with Bob Dylan


  1. Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright (order switched with following on LP)
  2. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue (Dylan and Garcia split vocals)(order switched with previous on LP)

Grateful Dead

  1. Candyman
  2. Me And My Uncle
  3. Mexicali Blues
  4. Don’t Ease Me In
  5. China Cat Sunflower
  6. I Know You Rider
  7. Playin’ In The Band (mostly without Garcia)
  8. Desolation Row (without Garcia)
  9. Drums
  10. Space
  11. Truckin’
  12. Black Peter
  13. Sugar Magnolia
  14. Box Of Rain

Notes: As indicated, this is the setlist for the night. “It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue” was put at the end of side six and “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” was put at the beginning of side seven, but the order is switched for LP space purposes.

And there you have it.

The source for the extras is AUD->DAT->CDr->SHN->TLH->FLAC and is SHNID 12934 (sbeok). It’s been converted from SHN to FLAC.There were no sector boundary errors to begin with.

Lineage: Various AUD recorders ->? ->LP set -> Sound Forge-> click and crackle removal->FLAC via TLH, level 6, sectors aligned and verified, FLAC integrity checked.


A DoinkerTape


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.