1983/03/18 Detroit, MI AUD

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Cobo Arena
Detroit, Michigan
March 18, 1983
DS Archives Volume 30
(Audience Master)

Recording: Sony D5

Transfer: Audience Master > CDR > xACT 2.39 (secure rip) > Peak Pro 6 (pitch adjusted) > iZotop RX / Ozone 5 (mastered) > Peak Pro 6 (post production) > xACT 2.39 > FLAC

  1. One Story Town
  2. Listen To Her Heart
  3. A Thing About You
  4. You Got Lucky
  5. I Need To Know
  6. Don’t Do Me Like That
  7. Here Comes My Girl
  8. Change Of Heart
  9. The Waiting
  10. Hang On Sloopy
  11. Straight Into Darkness
  12. A Woman In Love (It’s Not Me)
  13. King’s Highway
  14. Breakdown
  15. Refugee
  16. Shout
  17. Even The Losers
  18. American Girl

Known Faults:

Here at the DS Archives, like many, we were extremely saddened by the sudden passing of Tom Petty, we figured one of the best ways we could pay tribute and show our respect would be to release Dan’s gorgeous 1983 Detroit capture.

This is the first non-Bruce related DS Archives release and has circulated in the past but this is the first time it’s been released directly from the master, well almost directly from the master.

Anyone that has followed the DS Archives knows Dan was victim to a catastrophic (in the sense much of his archives was lost) basement flood which claimed many of his tapes. Fortunately, this one had been safely backed up on CDR which is the source of this release.

If you like this era Tom Petty you’ll very much enjoy this show. There is a humorous occurrence during “Woman In Love” where it sounds like Petty drops his guitar creating a large out of tune racket. The song momentarily breaks down and Petty mentions restarting on verse 2, at which point he replaces the line “I don’t understand the world today” with “I don’t understand guitars today”. One of the reasons I love live recordings those little unscripted moments in time during a very scripted show.

As for the capture, it’s a beauty! I’ve extracted all the close to the mic whistles (there were some extremely loud ones) and various screams and hollers. Dan did a wonderful job on this capture. All the music is intact and locked in from the first notes to the last.

Thanks to Dan for the capture and allowing me the honor of working on his archives. Dan’s Detroit ’81 Master will be on tap in the near future.

R.I.P Tom, I hope this is a fitting tribute.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.