1983/03/05 Kansas City, MO AUD

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Municipal Auditorium
Kansas City, Missouri
March 5, 1983

(1st Generation)

Transfer: 1st Generation Tape > Nakamichic DR-1 (azimuth adjusted) > Sound Devices USB Pre2 > Audacity 1.2.5 > Peak Pro 6 (pitch correction) > iZotope RX / Ozone5 (mastered) > Peak Pro 6 (post production) > xACT 2.21 > FLAC

  1. One Story Town
  2. Listen To Her Heart
  3. A Thing About You
  4. You Got Lucky
  5. I Need To Know
  6. Don’t Do Me Like That
  7. Here Comes My Girl
  8. A Change Of Heart
  9. The Waiting
  10. Hang On Sloopy
  11. Straight Into Darkness
  12. A Woman In Love
  13. King’s Road
  14. Breakdown
  15. Refugee
  16. Route 66
  17. American Girl
  18. Shout

Known Faults:
-Refugee: splice at end
-Route 66: slight technical glitch

This share comes from my 1st generation tape, it’s a nice capture of the Kansas City stop on the “Long After Dark” tour. There is just a bit of distance to it but it’s very clear and clean with nice instrument separation. There were two dozen or so instances of what sounds like mic bumps but I’ve repaired all of these and 99% of them are seamless now.

Typical set for the ’83 tour, always nice to hear “Route 66” get a slot.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.