1977/03/05 Royal Oak, MI AUD

Artist: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Date: 1977-03-05
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Venue: Royal Oak Music Theatre
Source: Audience
Lineage: ANA(M)>WAV [96kHz/24bit]>WAV [44.1kHz/16bit]>FLAC [Level 8]
Transfer: Nakamichi CR-7A>PreSonus FireStudio Project>Adobe Audition 3.0>Cdwave editor>FLAC frontend 1.7.1
Taping Gear: radioshack dictation style deck w/builtin in mic
Taped By: Friend of JEMS
Transferred By: Mike Ziegler

Band Members
Tom Petty ñ lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Mike Campbell ñ lead guitar
Ron Blair ñ bass, backing vocals
Benmont Tench ñ keyboards
Stan Lynch – drums, backing vocals


  1. Intro
  2. Surrender
  3. Jaguar And The Thunderbird
  4. American Girl
  5. Fooled Again
  6. I Need To Know
  7. Dog On The Run

Length: 32:48

Acquired master tape from the JEMS archives. Decent early performance of an up and coming Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers here. The crowd is polite but almost indifferent to them for this performance and that is not surprising considering the opener Cheap Trick played a set that they could just not compete with or follow up on.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.